what if?

what if i let go of capitalizing today?

or stop caring about punctuation

and just let my words flow from thought to keyboard to screen

what would happen if i stop caring about time

and how i never seem to have enough

or words and how they never come out right

what if i stop thinking about my expectations that i have for myself

and just live without pressures deadlines or internal criticism

how different would life be for me, if i stop caring?

would i wake up with regret, that I didn’t try hard enough?

Would I think that I settled for less?

Would I lose a sense of who I am? A sense of accomplishment?

It’s the battles that make you, I keep telling myself. But I get tired of fighting.

I wonder, is it easier to give up than to keep going?

It seems as though it’s easier for me to keep going…

And that’s kinda nice if I really think about it…

I’m not the fastest, or the smartest, or the best, but I keep going.

I continue.

One thought on “what if?

Leave a Reply

